1556 San Elizario Rd.
San Elizario, TX 79849
|Mon - Fri||7 am - 9:30 am|
|Saturday (Open for Mass)||7 am - 9:30 am|
|Sunday (Open for Mass)||7 am - 9:30 am|
In 1789, the Spanish Crown established “San Elceario”, named after the Catholic patron saint of the military, as a military presidio. Throughout the years, chapels were built but rendered useless due to weather and size.
The present chapel, built in 1877, has become the centerpiece of the San Elizario community. Built in a traditional Spanish Mission style, the chapel showcases round archways and golden-trimmed pillars. The presidio chapel now serves as a full-functioning church and displays a picturesque vision of antiquated beauty and history.